Notes From The Dork Web

Notes For Readers Of Tales From The Dork Web

If you're here, you've probably come from my old newsletter, Tales From The Dork Web. I took the newsletter down after the process of enshittification started on Substack and the process inevitably devolved into a maybe Nazis are our people situation.

Protip for writing platforms: Searches for + nazi should never return anything. If searches for substack nazi return serious results, you have failed as a platform and there is no coming back from it.

If you'd like to read old issues, they're on archive.org. This lets you read them, but Substack gets nothing out of it.

I do write here, but not so often. I retired for a while and started building a forest garden but I've started working again and don't really have the time to write, which is a shame. At some point I'll find the time and space to set up a non-chronological writing space, at which point you'll probably see something more like Andy Matuschak's Notes or Tom Critchlow's Digital Garden.

I've also written a few articles (and contributed the name) for the online Amiga magazine, WhatIFF. It was a lot of fun writing for it but I've not had the time since going back to work.

Feel free to look around here. It won't be as polished as Tales From The Dork Web ever was, but hopefully you'll find a few interesting things.